McElroy Excellence in Education Grant

Available for Limited School Districts in AEA 267

The purpose of the McElroy Excellence in Education Grant is to provide funding for classroom teachers to develop innovative, educational experiences for their students in the second semester of the school year.  These innovative projects are to be an integral part of the curriculum and demonstrate excellence in education.

Grants ranging from $500 - $1000 were awarded by a committee of educational and community leaders.  This funding was provided by the McElroy Trust as part of the Excellence in Education Grants Program.  The McElroy Trust has identified the following eligible AEA 267 districts:  Aplington-Parkersburg, Cedar Falls, Clarksville, Denver, Dike-New Hartford, Dunkerton, East Buchanan, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, Grundy Center, Hudson, Independence, Janesville, Jesup, Nashua-Plainfield, North Butler, North Tama, Sumner-Fredericksburg, Tripoli, Union, Wapsie Valley, Waterloo, Waverly-Shell Rock, Area Education Agency 267 school programs and non-public schools in the former AEA 7 region.  

Proposals for 2016-2017 were submitted by October 14, 2016.  Seventy-seven proposals were received with thirty funded within the $25,000 provided by the McElroy Foundation Board. 

Documents for 2016-2017

Funds will be used for innovative teacher programs between January and May. A final report is due from grant recipients by May 19, 2017.

Contact Person